Back to the roots!

Diana+ F in action, Pragfriedhof Stuttgart

Diana+ F in action, Pragfriedhof Stuttgart

What a fun!

After years of using digital cameras only for my photography, I got a magnificent Diana F+ from my family for Birthday. This camera is a modified version of a model from the 60s now produced by Lomography.

Completely built from plastics, this camera feels like a real time warp. I think just the carrying belt of my Canon EOS 60D weighs more than the whole camera including the funny flash. It offers 3 f-stop setting (sunny, partly cloudy and cloudy), 3 focus positions and 2 exposure times (“the” pre-set exposure time or “B” for as long as you hold the trigger). Despite its simplicity it even allows the photographer to choose from a set of lenses. The climax of luxury is the plug-in flash that comes with the Diana.

By default it works with a 120 film.I had never worked with that type of roll film before. And it turned out to be very surprising experience as I expected it to be much more complicated than it really is.

Like an angel

Like an angel

Reading about Lomography cameras and all their surrealistic colors and heavy vignette in magazines and on websites since years, I was curious in how my new old camera will work. So we used a beautifully sunny Sunday and took off to a photo safari to an old cemetery in Stuttgart (Pragfriedhof). After completing the film with some indoor shots – amazing how long it takes to capture 12 pictures if you know you only have these 12 – I just today got my first analogue pictures since years back from the laboratory.

What shall I say? Not all pictures of the first film are useable. But most of them are – take a look!

There are still a lot of lenses and other accessories in my kit that I did not try yet. I am bursting with curiosity!

Tombstone, Stuttgart Pragfriedhof

Tombstone, Stuttgart Pragfriedhof

The missing head.With a DSLR you have much more control - but much less thrill :-)

The missing head.
With a DSLR you have much more control – but much less thrill!

Cemetary, Stuttgart Pragfriedhof

Cemetary, Stuttgart Pragfriedhof

Jump!

Jump!

Blurred Time

Blurred Time

Sandra cooking

Sandra cooking

Fire

Fire

About oliverbuerkler

I am an engineering professional from Germany. Currently working as Product Manager for 3D Laser Scanner and the related software products at FARO. Apart from culture, nature and delicious food, I am interested in modern technologies. Focussing on topics which are related to the keywords "3D", "Imaging", "Modern Technologies" and "Computers" I try to figure out what is making technology a success. What is needed to make things accepted by people? Why are many fascinating products failing while similar gadgets are achieving record sales.
This entry was posted in Art, Fun, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment